Meho Plaza

Meho Plaza

After gaining a devoted underground following due to the success of their sold-out, limited-edition EPs, Meho Plaza is set to bring their experimental, herky-jerky, synth-driven pop to Better Looking Records (The Electric Soft Parade, Tristeza , The Jealous Sound, etc). With hypnotic, angular guitar riffs competing against fuzzy, warm casios, their first self-titled full-length album is often simultaneously reminiscent of Brainiac and early Sonic Youth.

Meho Plaza consists of keyboardist, Jennifer Hwang, singer/guitarist Mike Thrasher and drummer James Connelly. Their stripped down live performance has earned them significant critical praise; The Los Angeles Times has called the experience a "rush" and further described their unique sound as an "energetic yet oddly dreamy approach to synthesized minimalism."

The Los Angeles CityBeat aptly called "The Beach," a song initially included on the band's EP, "quirkily specific without being pointlessly obscure," demonstrating the band's off-the-beaten path approach to combining raw edges with smooth lyrics and melodies. Pitchfork included the track on the Infinite Mixtape Series (now known as the Forkast), the popular music site's compilation of "only the very best of [their] favorite new tracks."

Additionally, the new album features highlights "Let's Play Police" and "I Sold My Organs," tracks which LA-Underground promises "will have you reliving your days of Daydream Nation with all their angular psych-pop bliss."

Meho Plaza is signed to Better Looking Records.